SC Trip and Other Ramblings

I’ve been very very busy recently, which is kind of weird considering that I have also been extremely sick also.  I came down with the flu, then that turned into pneumonia.  And during all of that, I worked, wrote papers for school, traveled and planned baby showers.  Crazy stuff!! 

One of my travels was up to South Carolina to visit the family.  I haven’t been up there since last December, so we were way overdue to pay a visit.  We got to spend time with a lot of people this trip since we were up there for five days.  I got to meet up with my old friend Caroline who I used to get into trouble with when we were in middle school through high school — sadly through church trips.  After retelling stories I think I realize now why her mom hated me so much when we were growing up.  Carlos & I got to meet her hubby Steve and it was instant man-love for those two:

Steve and Carlos

Steve and Carlos

Caroline is still a sweetheart and cracks me up.  I love her crazy ass and remembered why we had so much fun as kids.  She was such a good friend and I am sure will be one of those people who is always in my life forever and ever:

I also got to see Ashley and spend some time with the twins.  They are so cute!  Kate has such big eyes and is just the happiest little thing.  Gray is very pensive and thoughtful.  It’s interesting to see how early they begin to develop their own little personalities.  I guess they are biting now too.  I wasn’t privvy to that experience:

Kate

 

Gray

Gray

We went to the USC – UAB game and actually had great seats, but it was so hot.  Ashley’s sister in law, Shannon, and her husband are partners in one of those train cars so we left at half time to go back and finish watching the game with them.  OH!  I did get to see Doug Hislop my old neighbor at halftime.  My second concussion was with him – when I was six I temporarily forgot how to use my brakes on my bike and hit him in the back while he was on his green machine.  I flew over my handle bars and I guess landed on my head.  I blacked out and only remember waking up in Wes Harper’s arms with blood all down my face and shirt.  Those were my first stitches too.  I busted my lip.  It was good to see Doug — he really hadn’t changed a bit in the last 20+ years!  Anyway, it was nice to spend time with Ashley and Shannon.  Carlos was poopy and hung over from too much man love with Steve the night before, but us girls had fun together:

Shannon & Ashley

Shannon & Ashley

 

Ash & Me

Ash & Me

Sunday we hopped up bright and early and drove up to Charlotte to see my cousin Jill cheer in the Panthers game.  She gave us friends and family seats (very seats) but it was a 1:00PM game and they were directly in the sun.  I swear I almost passed out up there!  The Panthers played great and won, Jill looked great too:

Jill cheering

Jill cheering

Me & Jilly Bean

Me & Jilly Bean

We went out to a neat bar after the game in Charlotte called Blackfinn.  It was nice to see Jill and meet some of her friends.  Cheers to moving on girlfriend!

On Monday, we had the wonderful pleasure of driving up to Campobello to see Amy, Gray and Jack and dining with them at the world reknowned Beacon Drive Inn.  But not without visiting them at their lovely aluminum condo first:

It’s only temporary while they are adding on to their house now, but I’d rather move back in with my parents than live in that.  No offense, Amy.

That was our whirlwind trip up to SC.  On friday we are taking another whirlwind trip up to Atlanta for Phil’s wedding.  Hopefully, it won’t reactivate the flu or the pneumonia.

Adios for now!

Leave a comment